Chief Group > Securities > HK Stocks > Warrants
Warrants

Warrants

What are Warrants?

Warrants are an instrument which gives investors the right - but not the obligation - to buy or sell the underlying asset (e.g. a stock) at a pre-set price on or before a specified date.

How many types of Warrants are there in the market?

There are two main types of warrants: subscription warrants and derivative warrants.

Subscription warrants are issued by a listed company and give holders the rights to buy the underlying shares of the company. They are either attached to new shares sold in initial public offerings, or distributed together with declared dividends, bonus shares or rights issues. Subscription warrants are valid between 1 and 5 years. Upon exercise, the underlying company will issue new shares and deliver them to the warrant holders.

Derivative warrants are issued by financial institutions. Unlike subscription warrants which must be call warrants, derivative warrants can be call or put warrants. Most of the derivative warrants in the market have a shorter life, ranging from 6 months to 2 years normally, although the current Listing Rules allow a maximum life of 5 years.

What are Call Warrants and Put Warrants?

Holders of call warrants have the right, but not obligation, to purchase from the warrant issuer a given amount of the underlying asset at the exercise price within a certain time period.

Conversely, holders of put warrants have the right, but not obligation, to sell to the warrant issuer a given amount of the underlying asset at the exercise price within a certain time period.

Derivative warrants are “exercised” when holders use their rights to purchase or sell the underlying assets. In Hong Kong derivative warrants are usually settled in cash when they are exercised at expiry dates.


Top

致富集团 > 证券 > 港股 > 认股证
认股证

认股证

甚麽是认股证?

认股证是一种赋予投资者权利 (而非责任) 的投资工具,让投资者可以在未来某个指定日期或之前,以指定价格买卖该认股证的相关资产 (例如某股票) 。

认股证分别有甚麽类别?

认股证可分为两大类:股本认股证和衍生认股证。

股本认股证由上市公司发行,赋予持有人认购该公司股份的权利。这类认股证往往与首次公开招股出售的新股一併发行,又或随有关公司派发股息、红股或供股时买入的股份一併分派。股本认股证有效期由 1 至 5 年不等。这类认股证被行使时,上市公司会发行新股,并将股份给予认股证持有人。

衍生认股证则由金融机构发行。有别于必须为认购证的股本认股证,衍生认股证可再分为认购证和认沽证两种。虽然,根据现行的《上市规则》,衍生认股证的最长有效期为 5 年,但市面上大部分衍生认股证的有效期一般相对较短,由 6 个月至 2 年不等。

甚麽是认购证和认沽证?

认购权证的持有人有权 (但没有责任) 在某段期间以预定价格 (称为「行使价」) 向发行商购入特定数量的相关资产。

相反,认沽权证的持有人有权 (但没有责任) 在某段期间以预定价格向发行商沽售特定数量的相关资产。

衍生认股证持有人利用有关权利购入或沽售相关资产的行动称为「行使」。在香港买卖的衍生权证到期被行使时,一般均以现金结算。

认识麦格理认股证

Value Partner

阁下进入或使用连接至网站的任何其他网站 (「第三方网站」) 的任何内容部分,风险概由阁下承担。致富概不负责与第三方网站有关的任何事项。详情请参阅 免责声明


最顶